A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Kyoto Protocol

The Kyoto Protocol is the name of a protocol signed in December 1997 in Kyoto to amend the 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The aim of the protocol is to lower the emission of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse effect gases. It demands that industrialised countries reduce their emission of greenhouse gasses by 5.2% until 2010 compared to 1990. Developing countries are not forced to reduce their emissions. The Kyoto Protocol entered into force in February 2005. The USA and Australia have signed it but refuse to ratify it.
(in "Sustainable Development")

Go to previous page Go to top Go to next page